Delhi High Court Bar Association Honors Legal Pioneers in Landmark Cases

Former Chief Justice of India, NV Ramana, as Chief Guest

In a historic initiative, the Delhi High Court Bar Association (DHCBA), in partnership with Live4Freedom LLP, unveiled the inaugural "Fight for Justice Awards" to acknowledge litigants who triumphed against daunting challenges in Supreme Court cases, resulting in groundbreaking judgments and legal reforms.

1. Criminal Case

Recipient: Asha Devi (Nirbhaya’s mother) Asha Devi relentlessly pursued justice for her daughter, Nirbhaya, catalyzing significant changes in criminal law, including the recognition of offenses like acid attacks, voyeurism, and stalking.

2. Women Case

Recipient: Shayara Bano Shayara Bano contested the practice of Triple Talaq, leading to the Supreme Court's 2017 declaration that deemed the practice unconstitutional.

3. Administration and Governance Case

Recipients: Commanders Annie Nagaraja and Priya Khurana The case by Commanders Annie Nagaraja and Priya Khurana established that Short Service Commission women officers in the Navy were entitled to permanent commission, ensuring gender equality.

4. Labour Case

Recipient: Bezwada Wilson Bezwada Wilson, founder of Safai Karmachari Andolan, played a pivotal role in securing a Supreme Court order for ₹10 lakh compensation in each case of death due to manual scavenging.

5. Environment Case

Recipient: Late Abdul Jabbar Khan Abdul Jabbar Khan, a Bhopal Gas Tragedy victim turned activist, fought for justice in the Supreme Court, highlighting the plight of victims.

6. Specially-abled Persons Case

Recipient: Nipun Malhotra Nipun Malhotra, born with a rare disease, contributed to exemptions for specially-abled persons during Delhi's odd-even scheme and advocated for greater accessibility.

7. Child Rights Case

Recipient: Bachpan Bachao Andolan Founded by Nobel laureate Kailash Satyarthi, the organization compelled the Supreme Court to issue directives to protect children from alcohol and drug abuse.

8. Lifetime Achievement

Recipient: Neelam Krishnamoorthy (for Uphaar tragedy case) Neelam Krishnamoorthy, co-founder of AVUT, fought a two-decade legal battle against the Ansals following the 1997 Uphaar Cinema fire tragedy.

Acknowledging Unsung Heroes

DHCBA Vice-President Jatan Singh expressed that the awards recognize litigants who, through their perseverance, not only sought justice for themselves but also positively impacted society. 

The event underscores the integral role litigants play in the 'temple of justice,' alongside judges and lawyers. The awards, determined by a distinguished jury, celebrate individuals who have significantly contributed to the rule of law with their unwavering commitment.

Woman Reading