Delhi High Court Bar Association Commemorates Litigants with ‘Fight For Justice’ Awards in Landmark Cases


Best Law Books

Delhi High Court Bar Association Commemorates Litigants with ‘Fight For Justice’ Awards in Landmark Cases

Former Chief Justice of India, NV Ramana, Chief Guest at the Event

In a groundbreaking move, the Delhi High Court Bar Association (DHCBA), in collaboration with Live4Freedom LLP, presented the inaugural Fight for Justice Awards on Monday. The awards aim to recognize litigants who, against formidable odds, secured victories in Supreme Court cases, leading to landmark judgments and legal reforms.

Award Categories and Recipients

Criminal Cases

Winner: Asha Devi (Nirbhaya’s mother)

Asha Devi fought tirelessly for justice for her daughter Nirbhaya, resulting in significant changes to criminal law, including the recognition of offenses like acid attacks, voyeurism, and stalking.

Women Cases

Winner: Shayara Bano

Shayara Bano challenged the practice of Triple Talaq, leading to a Supreme Court declaration in 2017 that deemed the practice unconstitutional.

Administration and Governance Cases

Winners: Commanders Annie Nagaraja and Priya Khurana

Commanders Annie Nagaraja and Priya Khurana’s case established that Short Service Commission women officers in the Navy were entitled to permanent commission, ensuring gender equality.

Labour Cases

Winner: Bezwada Wilson

Bezwada Wilson, a Safai Karmachari Andolan founder, played a pivotal role in securing a Supreme Court order for ₹10 lakh compensation in each case of death due to manual scavenging.

Environment Cases

Winner: Late Abdul Jabbar Khan

Abdul Jabbar Khan, a Bhopal Gas Tragedy victim turned activist, fought for justice in the Supreme Court, highlighting the plight of victims.

Specially-abled Persons Cases

Winner: Nipun Malhotra

Nipun Malhotra, born with a rare disease, contributed to exemptions for specially-abled persons during Delhi’s odd-even scheme and advocated for greater accessibility.

Child Rights Cases

Winner: Bachpan Bachao Andolan

The organization, founded by Nobel laureate Kailash Satyarthi, compelled the Supreme Court to issue directives to protect children from alcohol and drug abuse.

Lifetime Achievement

Recipient of the award: Neelam Krishnamoorthy (for her efforts in the Uphaar tragedy case)

Neelam Krishnamoorthy, co-founder of AVUT, fought a two-decade legal battle against the Ansals following the 1997 Uphaar Cinema fire tragedy.

Acknowledging Unsung Heroes

DHCBA Vice-President Jatan Singh expressed that the awards recognize litigants who, through their perseverance, not only sought justice for themselves but also positively impacted society. The event underscores the integral role litigants play in the ‘temple of justice,’ alongside judges and lawyers. The awards, determined by a distinguished jury, celebrate individuals who have contributed significantly to the rule of law with their unwavering commitment.

Share this Article:

Leave a Comment

Presidents Day 2024: History, Significance, and Shopping Deals The Pubic examinations (prevention of unfair means) bill, 2024 Supreme Court’s Landmark Decision on Electoral Bonds Scheme Restrictions Imposed under Section 144 in Delhi till March 12 Dual Citizenship: Insights and Challenges for Indians Abroad Delhi High Court Bar Association Honors Legal Pioneers in Landmark Cases Digital Arrest New Scam Delhi Judicial Service Exam 2023: Notification Overview Switzerland Parliament Passes Burqa Ban: What You Need to Know Woman Loses All Limbs After Consuming Contaminated Tilapia fish Important Legal Maxim UK ban American xl bully dog Rosh Hashanah 2023 G20 Summit 2023 Full Moon Supermoon Blue Moon India Gears Up to Host G20 Summit in Delhi 2023 Shivaji Maharaj Statue desecrated in Goa Dubai burj khalifa Indian flag 2023 Partition horrors remembrance day Indiana mom dies after drinking water